cards and other happy thoughts

Daily Archives: 01/06/2012

This is one of those “no reason” cards.  I’m not entering it in a challenge, don’t need it for a birthday or other occasion, just wanted to have a play and see what I could come up with.  I had decided, or thought I had, on a completely different card with darker tones and quite different embellishments.  In the end I am very happy.  Perhaps I need to play and experiment more often to give myself more freedom to try different things.

Can you see the discreet sparkly flourishes on the white card?  I have a glue pad (the same as an ink pad but with glue of course) and it has had a lonely life pushed right to the back in one of the draws.  It finally saw the light of day today.  I used a flourish stamp (another neglected crafty item) with the glue pad and then stamped it around the image.  Then I sprinkled glitter lightly onto the glue.  I like the understated effect.

I stamped the same flourish in smokey grey, with a little addition of some distress inks, onto the very light pink card then ran it through a swirly embossing folder.  I cut around the flourishes to create a frame (well half a frame).  I added some distress crackle paint to the frame (first time I’ve attempted this – next time I will use a thicker layer of paint).

I think this image is great.  It is called “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” by the Octopode Factory.  The sentiment is from a set by Stempelglede “Just a Note”.  The filigree style corner is a die cut from Lal-lal land crafts.  Lots of sparkle and glitz on the card and on me, desk and floor as well.  I think that I should try another card in the darker tones and style which I first envisaged.  That might be possible over the weekend.

Okay that’s all for now,