cards and other happy thoughts

Daily Archives: 03/11/2013

It is one of my grandson’s 4th birthday and I love to make my birthday cards, but little boys’ cards stump me sometimes.  While I was in our local scrapbooking store, the Imagination Factory, recently I saw a great card by the owner, TraceyI thought I would CASE the card.  I looked on-line to find out exactly what “casing” a card actually involved.  Here is a small selection of what I found –

  • copy and share with everyone
  • copy and steal everything
  • copy and selectively edit  (change 3 things seemed to be a common suggestion)
  • copy and stamp exactly.

I am hoping that “Tracey” agrees that it is the 3rd option “copy and selectively edit”.   I used a different digital stamp, different sentiment, skewed the focal image and didn’t add the twine and strip of paper down the centre.  The papers and stars are the same and the sketch almost the same.

JJP

jjp1

The digital stamps is from Some Odd Girl “Pumpkin Kody”.  The papers are from a pad from My Mind’s Eye “Sunshine”.  The sentiment is from Verve.

Because his birthday is very close to Halloween that was the theme for his party (hence the pumpkin in the stamp).  Here are some family photos from the party.

jpp2

The pirate family – Jack Pirate (not Sparrow), Mummy Pirate and Skelton Pirate.

jjp4

Blowing out the candles can be tricky even for a Skelton.

jjp5

Sometimes you just need some encouragement from a friend.

Great party!

Bye for now,

lorraine