To commemorate ANZAC day (tomorrow) I have posted some photos of Ballarat’s Arch of Victory and Avenue of Honour with my Grandfather in mind.

“Anzac Day, 25 April, is one of Australia’s most important national occasions. It marks the anniversary of the first major military action fought by Australian and New Zealand forces during the First World War.

ANZAC stands for Australian and New Zealand Army Corps. The soldiers in those forces quickly became known as Anzacs, and the pride they took in that name endures to this day.”   from https://www.awm.gov.au/

I think I will just let you scroll down through the photos I have taken in Ballarat.  Most of it will be self explanatory.

anzac1anzac3anzac5anzac4

My Grandpa was an ANZAC and we are very proud of him.

anzac2

I’m not sure if you can see the plaques under each tree.  Each tree in the 22 k. Avenue of Honour is in memory of a soldier in the Ballarat district who served in the First WW.

anzac9

My Grandpa’s tree.

anzac8

anzac6anzac7

Lest we forget…….

Lorraine

