My dh is on a healthy food kick at the moment and I am trying to help him with this.  He wants us to eat more fish so I went looking for something different for us and found this delicious “Finnish Salmon Soup” recipe from Justine Schofield “Everyday Gourmet” TV show.

Finnish Salmon Soup

I did have to change it just slightly to suit the ingredients I had at home.

Ingredients

2 tbs. olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1 leek, white part finely sliced
½ tsp. all spice
2 medium potatoes, peeled and cut into cubes
2L fish stock  (I used chicken stock because that is all I had)
300g salmon skin removed and cut into chunks
100ml cream (I used light)
¼ bunch dill, finely chopped (I omitted this because I didn’t have any)
Juice ½ lemon

Even with my slight changes it was luscious according to dh.  I know the cream isn’t healthy but I added “light” which surely helps a little 🙂

I was especially keen to try this soup because 1 of our nieces lives in Finland now with her family.  I wonder if it is at all authentic or just a name which has been used?

Go to Justine’s recipe HERE.  We highly recommend this soup.

Bye for now,

lorrai

