At last, after many years of lack of care and attention 😆 , this amazing plant has not only survived but flowered.

BofP3

The Bird of Paradise (Strelitzia) is an exotic plant native to South Africa. The name comes from its flower which resembles a flying bird.

BofP

We didn’t really have much confidence in it surviving because of our cold winters.  It has struggled on for a few years and finally it has flowered.  I’m not sure if it is because of the heat wave we are experiencing at the moment (a week of temperatures hitting 4o°C / 104°F) or whether that is just a coincidence.

BofP2

On a different matter.  I’ve been trying to contact one of our crafting group via email but apparently her inbox is full (well that’s what the server tells me).  Pam (Ballarat) if you read this would you contact me.  Not urgent but I would like to hear from you.

Bye for now,

lorrai

