Last weekend we were invited to a Christmas party which was held about 2 hours drive from home and asked to bring a salad and a sweet.  Because of the distance I didn’t want to make anything which would melt or tip over so I made these mini plum puddings –

Puds

I thought they looked cute and I was told that they were yummy.  Perhaps you might like to make some, they are very easy.  Here is the recipe –

Mini Chocolate Plum Puddings  (my mixture made 20)

  • 230 g of Christmas cake (I used part of a “Lions Club” Traditional Christmas Cake)
  • 2 tablespoons sherry OR orange juice
  • 300 g dark OR milk chocolate, melted over hot water
  • 100 g white chocolate, melted over hot water
  • Red mini m&m’s
  • Green m&m’s
  1. Crumble the cake into a bowl.
  2. Add either sherry or orange juice a little at a time mixing until it is a good “rolling” consistency.
  3. Gently melt 100 g dark or milk chocolate over a saucepan of hot water.
  4. Add to cake mixture and combine well.
  5. Take generous teaspoons of the mixture and roll into balls.
  6. Place on a tray which is covered with baking paper and place in the fridge for approx ½ hour.
  7. Melt the remaining dark OR milk chocolate.
  8. Place the chilled balls in the melted chocolate and completely cover.
  9. Remove and place on a tray which is covered with baking paper.
  10. Put the tray into the fridge until the chocolate sets.
  11. Melt the white chocolate and pour it over the balls (this is supposed to represent custard).
  12. Add the m&m’s to represent holy.
  13. Chill again and then store in an airtight container.

For the salad I made an avocado and mango combination.  I’m sorry I didn’t take a photo but it was delish.

Here is another photo of my dear old mum with other grandchildren and of course I had to be there to keep one littlie still for a moment for the photo.

mum 2013

Hopefully I’ll be back to show you one more container I’ve made before I have a break over Christmas.

Bye for now,

lorraine

