A friend and I went to the Quilt & Craft Show at the Melbourne Exhibition Centre last week. We enjoyed ourselves (of course) but it was a little bit disappointing because the number of paper crafting and stamping stalls was down on previous years. Mind you we still found plenty of things to tempt us. πŸ˜€

The first thing I found which interested me was paper-folding a Christmas ball decoration.Β  Here is my attempt –

fold2

There are eight “petals” and a total of 12 flowers and that means a LOT of folding.Β  The folds are quite easy and it was a fun way to keep busy while watching TV.

fold1

I added some stamen, which I had in my stash,Β to the centres of the flowers and some gems to the tips of the petals.

fold

The result was pretty.Β  I was surprised at the weight of the finished product and made sure that the ribbon was attached very securely.

I have several other projects from the exhibition which I will show you over the coming days/weeks.
Edited to add – I have found the “real” name for these balls, it is Kusudama (Flower Ball).Β  Here is a tutorial on YouTube which you might find helpful.

Bye for now,

lorraine

