Hello all. I’m excited to tell you that I’m entering the most interesting challenge that I’ve attempted. The challenge is over at Dilly Beans Designers “Frida Kahlo”. If you are an artist or art enthusiast you will know that name but for me it was all a discovery. I loved it, such a different challenge to the norm.

For a biography about Frida Kahlo, click here. Frida Kahlo was a Mexican painter best known for her self-portraits, you can see some of her art on Google Images here.

Here is my attempt –

frida

I saw that many of her paintings had leaves as the background, hence the leaf flourishes.  In particular I was drawn to her painting “Roots”, which by the way, I see was sold at Sotheby’s for a measly $5.6 million. 😯

frida3

Her bold colours also drew my eye.  I coloured the beautiful image from Dilly Beans “Anna Framed” with Copics.

frida1

I stamped a quote in the top left corner – the stamp is from Verve.

I had fun and learnt a great deal – WIN WIN for me.

Bye for now,

lorraine

