Today you “buy one get one free” – well “see one get one free”.  I have the instructions for today’s card and also the names of the spellbinders dies for my last card “A Warm Hello“.

Before I show you the instructions for today’s card I just want to let you know that I’m entering “Sophia” into the Kraftin’ Kimmie Stamps Challenge #164 “texture.  I have used some lovely baby pink felt for “texture” and the ribbons and paper are also daintily textured.

cheers9

Now onto the Easel Card Instructions.

  • I like to choose my stamp before I do anything else.  Today I chose “Sophia” a Kraftin’ Kimmie Stamp;

                                cheers

This was a stamped image I had to discard because her shoulder didn’t stamp – even after all the years I  have been stamping I still sometimes have slip-ups.

  • Next I chose the colours I wanted to use on this sophisticated miss – subdued green and pale pink;  (usually I choose the paper first but not today);

cheers1

  • I found some paper from Kaisercraft  paper pad “Lil’ Primrose” which I thought suited the image;
  • Now is the fun part (well it is all fun but this is the “FUNNest” 🙂 part – choosing which dies to use;
  • For this card I chose Spellbinders “Romantic Rectangles” and “Labels Twenty-One”.  I’m very fortunate because I have a number to choose from.  If you don’t have any you can of course cut squares, rectangles or circles by hand, but can I suggest you buy a couple of your favourite Nestabilities sets  because if you are like me and love easel cards you will use then again and again;
  • Die cut your card;
  • The base should be cut after you have folded the card in half making sure you don’t cut the top.  It should look  like this when you open it up;

cheers4

  • Now make a crisp fold in one half.  So now you should have a mountain fold and a valley fold.  This is how it should stand;

cheers5

  • Now die cut your papers (or cut by hand) for the front of the card;

cheers2

  • I just cut the rectangles with my paper-cutter and rounded the corners with a corner punch;
  • I put them altogether to make sure they were the correct sizes

cheers3

  • Matt all the pieces together with ds tape;
  • Adhere,  arranging in your own style (make sure you add ribbons and embellishments as you go);

cheers8

  • Once you have finished the front die-cut your papers (and in my case felt);

cheers6

  • Sometimes I draw around the outside of a die so that it is only slightly bigger than the die-cut piece and then cut it by hand.  That is what I did with the very light pink card above;
  • Adhere the paper (and felt) to the card base;

cheers7

  • I used another Spellbinder die “Fancy Tags 2” to create a sentiment tag which is used to rest the front of the card against.  The sentiment comes with the “Sophia” stamp;
  • Raise the sentiment tag with ds foam tape and position on the base;
  • Add embellishments;

cheers12

  • Finally attach the front panel to the base.  Voilà  …..

cheers10

Here is the front of the card folded ready to post –

cheers11

For my previous easel card I used exactly the same process.  Here are the Spellbinder dies I used –   for the front panel I used “Lacey Circles” and for the stand “Labels Thirteen”.

If you have trouble deciphering my instructions please leave a comment with your query.  I would love to hear from you.

Bye for now,

lorraine

