At this time of the year each year, my dh’s family have a fishing competition/get together.  Each family has to provide some food to share, so I have been busy today preparing.  I have cooked –

  • Zucchini Slice – adapted from this SITE
  • Scotch Both – adapted from my mother’s recipe
  • Cheesy Pumpkins – adapted from this SITE
  • Trifle – adapted from my mother’s recipe
  • Tim Tam Balls – adapted from the book “Ingredients
    4 Christmas” by Kim McCosker – (Oero Balls)

This was a very popular recipe in the 80’s when Kindergartens used to raise money by holding “Soup, Sandwich and Sweets” lunches for parents and friends.  The food was donated by the parents.  The kinders charged a small amount for a buffet meal.

I must have been one of the few who actually hadn’t made it.  Last night I cooked a trial run and then changed it a little today to suit what I had in the pantry.  Thanks to our hens “Dorrie and Florrie” I was able to use 7 fresh eggs.  I only used 2 zucchini, added some fresh corn, and spring onion.

Next on the menu is what I call “Scotch Broth”.  I thought this might be useful for the little children.  The beef is our homegrown and is free of all nasty chemicals etc and is delish.  It is an easy recipe but very nutritious.  Diced beef, barley, carrot, celery, onion and beef stock.

The next dish is a new recipe (my dh thought it was very tasty).  Because I couldn’t source any sobrasada (chorizo spread) I bought 2 large chorizo sausages, cooked them in the microwave and then put them in the food processor and made a paste.

My little pumpkins don’t have the nice orange colour, probably because I didn’t use the past.  I thought that because next weekend in Halloween – pumpkins might have some relevance.

Next – trifle – self-explanatory I think.

Everything had to go into containers in an Esky, so no pretty crystal or glass bowl, but hopefully the trifle will still be tasty.

Finally the Tim Tam (hope everyone knows that these are an iconic Australian store-bought biscuit) balls.

The adapted recipe –

  • 2 pkts Tim Tams (I used original but I’m thinking the mint variety would be ideal)
  • 1 pkt (350 g) cream cheese
  • Chocolate to cover the balls
  • Toppings – I used, coconut, edible glitter, 100’s & 1000’s, choc bits, walnuts, etc.
  1. Break up the biscuits and pulse in a food processor until finely crushed
  2. Tip the crumbs into a bowl
  3. Add the cream cheese and mix until you can’t see any white pieces
  4. Roll into walnut size balls (I got 24 from this mixture)
  5. Chill for 1/2 hour
  6. Melt chocolate
  7. Dip the balls into the chocolate and place on a tray which is lined with baking paper
  8. Quickly add toppings of your choice
  9. Refrigerate.

Well I was pleased with my day’s effort – hopefully everyone else will be too.

Now for a good sit down to watch the TV.  My favourite shows are on tonight (Friday) – Better Homes & Gardens, Escape to the Country and Homes Under the Hammer.  A late night but this about the only time I watch TV – not many other shows which I enjoy.

Bye for now,

