My fruit bowl was looking a bit sad and sorry yesterday.  There were some bananas which were still okay inside but the skins had started to turn black.  I couldn’t bring myself to eat them even though I knew they would be alright, so I looked for a banana cake recipe which didn’t include eggs.  I found this recipe and cooked the cake last night –

Big Bird’s Banana Bread (from 1970’s Sesame St cookbook)

3 overripe bananas
3/4 cup honey
1/4 cup melted butter
1/2 teaspoon bicarb soda
1 1/2 cup plain flour

Preheat oven to 180C degrees. Melt 1/4 cup of butter. In a bowl, mash up the bananas, add the melted butter. Add the rest of the ingredients. Stir until everything is mixed together. Pour the mix into the oiled loaf tin. Bake for 1 hour.

So easy and tasty.  I added a handful (culinary measurement :lol:) of chopped walnuts which was good.  Adding a few chopped dates or raisins, etc and some spices might be good too.  It is nice and moist and quite dense, will definitely make it again.

My dh took some to work today to share so I hope they liked it.

Bye for now,

