Almost the weekend again – who can believe it?!?

Over at OUT OF A HAT CREATIONS the challenge this week is Challenge 25 “Oriental Influences”.  Plenty of scope with this challenge.

I decided to go with “Origami” .  This description is from Wikipedia – 

“Origami, from ori meaning “folding”, and kami meaning “paper”; (kami changes to gami due to rendaku) is the traditional Japanese art of paper folding, which started in the 17th century AD at the latest and was popularized outside of Japan in the mid-1900s. It has since then evolved into a modern art form. The goal of this art is to transform a flat sheet of paper into a finished sculpture through folding and sculpting techniques, and as such the use of cuts or glue are not considered to be origami.”

My version of an origami gift box – no cutting or gluing needed on the box itself.

Supplies needed –

A square of paper and bone folder. Any size square will work – just depends what size gift box you require.

Mark the centre of the square.

Place the patterned side of the paper under and fold each corner to the centre mark.
IMPORTANT – MAKE YOUR FOLDS CRISP AND CLEAN.

Next step is to fold each side to the centre.

Open up 2 opposite sides, leaving the other 2 sides folded in. Then pinch the sides of the top flap inward.

It might take a little bit of tweaking and practice to get the final sides folded in neatly. (It did for me but you might get it first time).

This is the top of the box finished.  To make the bottom make the square slightly smaller (1 cm is good).  Repeat the steps as per top.

Here is the embellishment I made for the top –

I used a scrap of some gorgeous embossed shiny red paper.

I cut 2 strips and used a border punch along each piece. Then I scored between each scallop and at the centre of each scallop. I glued the ends together and concertinaed the folds. Gently press the straight edge to the centre and glue the bottom to a small circle of paper.

I added another strip of the red paper over the top of the gift box and attached my embellishment.

I wanted to place something in the box – so thinking Asian – I added paper fortune cookies. Here are the “fortunes” I printed to place in the cookies.

One of my “fortune cookies”

Cut a circle of paper (any size). Fold in half without creasing. Hold at the top of the arc and with the other half gently press the outside tips to the middle (this might take a bit of jiggling to start). Place a glue dot or small piece of ds tape at the top of the fold to keep in place.

Don’t forget to place the “fortune” inside before you fold the cookie. Leave one end protruding.

I apologize if you are yawning by now 🙂 You’ve done well to make it to the end. This is the final photo of the cookies in the origami gift box.

Whew  …….

Bye for now,

