Are these serviettes or napkins?

Aren’t they pretty!  I’m going to call them serviettes.  They are made from oxygen bleached tissue.  I looked on the web to find out what the difference between a napkin and a serviette might be.  The only explanation which seemed logical to me was that a serviette is made of paper and a napkin is made of linen or cloth.

I bought them for a friend who has a fascination with pretty serviettes.  It was her birthday last week but I haven’t posted until now because I have only just caught up with her to give her the gift.  Hope you enjoy J.

Over at “Out of a Hat Creations” the challenge this week is All Parceled Up, so I think I will add my serviette holder.

I found the idea at this lovely site “mariannespapir.blogspot“.   I measured the serviettes and then constructed the holder based on Marianne’s beautiful photo.  Thank you also to Fiona at the Imagination Factory who helped me choose the papers and ribbons.

I was a bit worried that it might be unstable once I stood it up but it is (thankfully) very solid.

The Olympics are almost at an end so I’m looking forward to getting back into my craft room and creating again.

Bye for now,

