It has been a few days since I’ve posted and I’m feeling a bit guilty.  I hope today’s card will make up for my tardiness.  The style of card (if you haven’t already guessed from today’s title) is a “Side-step Card”.  It is the first time I’ve attempted one and I think I’m going to love this style.  I think these digi stamps are perfect for a side-step.  Here is my card –

Cute hey?!?  The digi stamps are from Pink Cat Studio  “Lily as Rapunzel” and “Prince Billy”.  The sentiment is from a set from Whiff of Joy.  I have had these images for a long time and was just waiting for inspiration to hit.

Here is how I made the card base – the measurements are metric but there are lots of tutorials out there in imperial if you need it in feet & inches.

  • Cut a piece of card 14 x 21 cm (an A5 card).
  • On the short side mark 7.5 cm, at this mark cut making a slit from 2.5 to 16.5 cm
  • On the wider side of the cut mark along the long side at 2.5, 5, 8, 11 and 16 cm.
  • Score from the edge to the cut at the marks you have just made.
  • Concertina fold these scored marks starting with a mountain fold (look at the next photos).

This is how your card should look after you have cut and scored.

This is after you have folded the card.

Here is a template which I hope is clear and might help you. (Click on the photo to see it more clearly)

So once you have constructed the card base the fun can start.  Decorate in any way you like.  I had great fun with these digi stamps but you can use any stamps or sentiments you like – use you imagination and see what you can come up with.

I guess my inspiration came from watching “Tangled” with my dgs’s.  I bought 2 Disney CDs from the supermarket because they had a “buy 1 get 1 free” deal and I couldn’t resist.  The other CD was Pinocchio – mmmmm what could I do?

I have used quite a few dies.  The grass die is from La-la land crafts, The sentiment panel is a Spellbinders Ribbon Tag and the small trees in the background are a Memory Box die.

If you have any questions feel free to contact me.

Bye for now,

