Just when you thought I had finished showing you different gift card holders here is another.  It is my ds’s birthday today and this is his card and gift card holder.

Even though he doesn’t live in Victoria now (the state where AFL rules) he still follows Essendon (go Bombers) when he can.  Hence the red and black beanie.

As you can see, the top of the beanie swivels up to reveal the gift card.

Here is the back showing the eyelet which allows the swivelling action.

You will notice on my sidebar a short list of blogs which I like to peep at regularly (actually I have lots, LOTS, more and I must update the list soon).  One of the blogs is Carolina’s Creative Pad and this is where I found the original beanie.  She has the directions on there but here is my short metric version.

Materials:

  • 1 x 12 cm circle
  • 1 x 5 cm x 13 cm strip of red card 
  • 1 x  2 cm x 13 cm strip of black card
  • Eyelet
  • Circle Cutter
  • Scallop Decorative Scissors
  • Crop-a-Dile
  • Double-Sided Tape
  • your choice of embellishments

Step 1:  Cut out a circle measuring 12 cm diameter approx.  I used the smallest of the Spellbinders Grand Nestabilities Circles, but of course you can make your circle with anything you have on hand.  

Step 2:  Because my beanie didn’t need anything more than red and black Bazzill card my next step was to cut the circle in half.

Step 3:  Like Carolina I scalloped one edge of the red strip using decorative scissors.

Step 4:  To the back semi-circle I added a strip of strong ds tape along the flat edge and adhered it to the bottom of the red strip of card stock, just above the scalloped edge.

Step 5:  Following Carolina’s instructions I then inserted the other semi-circle in-between the red strip and semi-circle. I slipped the Crop-a-Dile in the middle.   Punch hole, add an eyelet and set.  (I used a Crop-a-dile but you could just as easily use a hole punch and eyelet setter.)

Step 6:  Then I adhered the black strip of card.

Step 7:  Finally I added an Essendon Logo and a few tiny strips of red and black card at the top for a pom-pom.

I have just had a phone call from ds thanking me for the gift and giving me some lovely feedback about the card (“best card you have ever made”.  😆   I wonder if  it had been in different colours would I have received such a good review?

You might have noticed that my photos have a few blurry spots of them.  Well I noticed them and then realised that the lens of the camera has several scratches –  ugh – how did that happen?  I will have to take it to a camera shop to see if there is anything I can do about it.  I’ve a terrible feeling that it is not going to be cheap to fix.

Bye for now,

 

